Sunday, 25 October 2026

HP M190 Wireless Mouse Review (AB3C6AA): Six Buttons, AA Power and the Gaps to Check

The HP M190 (AB3C6AA) is an ambidextrous 2.4 GHz wireless mouse with six buttons, a DPI switch and an 18-month AA battery claim. Here is who it suits and what the listing leaves out.
By Gadget Soch··10 min read
Cover graphic: HP M190 Wireless Mouse Review (AB3C6AA): Six Buttons, AA Power and the Gaps to Check

The HP M190 Wireless Mouse (AB3C6AA) is a full-size, ambidextrous office mouse that connects through a 2.4 GHz USB-A nano dongle, runs on one AA battery, and adds six buttons plus a DPI switch. If you want a no-fuss wireless mouse for a laptop or desktop and like having more than the usual three buttons, it is a sensible shortlist pick. If you need Bluetooth, a USB-C receiver, a rechargeable battery or published DPI figures, look elsewhere.

Our short verdict: the M190 looks like a practical everyday mouse with a generous battery claim (up to 18 months, according to the Amazon.in listing) and a 3-year warranty listed by the seller. Its weak point is information. HP’s own product page did not load for us when we checked on 17 October 2026, and the Amazon.in listing does not state DPI levels, the sensor model, or click durability.

This article is based on the Amazon.in listing data (the seller’s published specifications) and the limited official information available, not on hands-on testing. Wherever a figure comes only from the listing, we say so, and we point out the gaps you should check before you order.

Quick verdict

  • Best for: students, office workers and home users who want a plain wireless mouse with a few extra buttons and a long gap between battery changes
  • Skip if: your laptop has only USB-C ports, you want Bluetooth for a tablet or phone, or you prefer a rechargeable mouse
  • Key strengths: six buttons with a DPI switch, ambidextrous full-size shape, multi-surface sensor claim, one AA battery included, 18-month battery claim, 3-year warranty listed
  • Key limitations: no published DPI values, no Bluetooth, USB-A dongle only, and few independent reviews to confirm real-world tracking or battery life

HP M190 key specifications

The table below uses the Amazon.in listing for ASIN B0DXNTYWHV, captured on 17 October 2026. HP’s India product page could not be opened for cross-checking, so treat every line as the listing’s claim.

HP M190 key specs at a glance
HP M190 key specifications, summarised from the table in this review.
SpecificationHP M190 (AB3C6AA), as listed
Model and part numberHP M190, AB3C6AA
ColourBlack
Connection2.4 GHz wireless via USB-A nano dongle
SensorOptical, described as multi-surface (including marble)
Buttons6, including a DPI switch button
DPI levelsNot stated on the listing
Hand orientationAmbidextrous, full size
Power1 x AA battery (included)
Battery life claimUp to 18 months
Platforms listedPC, Mac, Linux
Weight0.06 kg (60 g), per listing
Warranty3 years, per listing
Country of originChina

Check the current price of the HP M190 Wireless Mouse on Amazon.in

Design and comfort: what “full-size ambidextrous” means for you

The listing describes the M190 as a full-size, ambidextrous mouse. In practice, a symmetrical shape means left-handed users can use it without discomfort, and it suits families or offices where several people share one computer. A full-size body also tends to suit palm grip better than small travel mice, which can cramp larger hands during long Excel or email sessions.

The trade-off is that symmetrical mice do not offer the sculpted thumb rest of right-handed ergonomic designs. If you already get wrist strain, a symmetrical mouse will not fix that by itself, so consider a properly ergonomic or vertical model instead.

One oddity: the listing’s dimension field reads 6.2 x 4 cm, which looks small for a mouse sold as “full size”. It may be a data-entry error or a measurement of only part of the body. If size matters to you, compare it against a mouse you already own after delivery and use the return window if it does not suit your hand.

Six buttons and the DPI switch

Most budget wireless mice have three controls: left click, right click and a clickable scroll wheel. The M190 is listed with six buttons, including a DPI switch. On similar mice, the extra pair is usually placed on the side for Back and Forward in browsers and file explorers, which saves trips to the toolbar. The listing does not show the exact button layout in text, so check the product photos to confirm where they sit.

The DPI switch changes pointer speed in hardware. Lower sensitivity is steadier for spreadsheet cells and photo cropping, while higher sensitivity crosses a large or dual-monitor desktop with less hand movement. HP does not publish the DPI steps on the listing, so we cannot tell you the range. You can always fine-tune speed in Windows, macOS or Linux pointer settings regardless.

The listing also tags the buttons as “programmable”, but it does not name any HP software for remapping them. Do not buy the M190 expecting custom macros until you confirm on HP’s support site that a utility exists for your operating system.

Wireless connection and compatibility

The M190 uses a 2.4 GHz connection through a USB-A nano dongle. This is the most dependable kind of wireless link for a desktop or office laptop: you plug the receiver in, the operating system loads a standard driver, and it works without pairing. It also suits office PCs where Bluetooth may be restricted.

The catch is the plug type. Many thin laptops and almost all tablets and phones now have only USB-C ports. The listing names smartphones and tablets among compatible devices, but that will only work if your device supports USB OTG and you add a USB-C to USB-A adapter. There is no Bluetooth listed, so you cannot connect it directly to an iPad or Android phone.

Keep the dongle safe. Small receivers are easy to lose, and a mouse like this is usually paired at the factory to its own receiver.

Sensor and surfaces

According to the listing, the M190’s optical sensor works on “almost any surface”, with marble given as an example. That matters in India, where many home desks are glass-topped, laminated or stone. Standard optical sensors often struggle on glossy or reflective surfaces, so this claim is useful if true. However, no independent test we could find confirms it, and clear glass is a tough surface for most optical mice. A cheap cloth mouse pad remains the simplest fix if tracking jumps.

Battery life and power

The listing claims up to 18 months from one AA battery, which is included in the box. Battery claims like this assume light daily office use. Heavy daily use, lithium versus alkaline cells, and leaving the mouse switched on overnight all change the result.

Practical tips: switch the mouse off when you pack your laptop if it has a power switch, use a good alkaline or rechargeable NiMH AA cell, and remove the battery if you will not use the mouse for months, as leaking cells can damage contacts.

Who should buy the HP M190

Who should buy the HP M190
Who the HP M190 suits, summarised from this review.
  • Office and work-from-home users who want extra buttons without paying for a premium mouse
  • Left-handed users or shared family computers that need a symmetrical shape
  • Anyone with a desktop or a laptop that still has USB-A ports
  • Buyers who value a long listed warranty and long battery life over extra features

Who should skip it

  • People with USB-C-only laptops who do not want to carry an adapter
  • Tablet and phone users who need Bluetooth
  • Gamers, who will want published DPI, polling rate and a gaming-grade sensor
  • Anyone who wants a rechargeable mouse or software to remap buttons

Alternatives worth comparing

All of these are basic wireless mice for everyday work. Facts below come from each brand’s Amazon.in listing or official datasheet, as noted.

  • Logitech B170: a simpler three-button mouse. Logitech’s datasheet lists a 10-metre wireless range, a 12-month battery life on one AA cell, and Windows, Mac and Chrome compatibility. Choose it if you do not need extra buttons.
  • ASUS WT300: its Amazon.in listing describes an ambidextrous mouse with a 1000/1600 DPI switch, a 2.4 GHz nano receiver and up to 15 months of battery life on one AA cell. Pick it if you want stated DPI values.
  • Dell WM118: listed on Amazon.in as an ambidextrous 2.4 GHz mouse with a USB nano receiver and a 12-month battery claim on one AA cell. A plain option for basic use.

For a quieter-click option, read our Logitech M221 Silent review.

What to check before you order

HP M190 buying checklist
What to check before you buy the HP M190.
  • Variant: confirm the listing title shows HP M190 Wireless Mouse with part number AB3C6AA in black. Do not confuse it with the HP M290 or other similarly named HP mice.
  • Ports: make sure your computer has a free USB-A port, or budget for a USB-C adapter or hub.
  • Box contents: the listing says one AA battery is included. Check that the nano dongle is in the box or inside the battery compartment before you discard the packaging.
  • Warranty: the listing states 3 years. Keep your Amazon invoice, and confirm the warranty on HP India’s support website using the serial number on the underside of the mouse.
  • Seller: buy from a seller backed by the brand store where possible, since warranty claims can be harder for grey-market units.

See the HP M190 (AB3C6AA, Black) on Amazon.in and confirm the variant and seller before you check out.

Quick setup steps

Remove the battery cover and fit the included AA cell, checking the polarity marks. Take out the nano dongle (it may be stored inside), plug it into a USB-A port and switch the mouse on. Windows, macOS and Linux should detect it within seconds without a driver. Then open your system’s mouse settings to set pointer speed, scroll direction and, if you are left-handed, swap the primary button. If the cursor jumps, try a different USB port, move the dongle closer using a USB extension, or use a mouse pad. If you are building a full desk setup, our work-from-home desk setup guide covers keyboards and monitors too.

Frequently asked questions

Is the HP M190 a Bluetooth mouse?

No. According to the Amazon.in listing, it connects through a 2.4 GHz USB-A nano dongle. No Bluetooth mode is listed.

What DPI does the HP M190 support?

The listing mentions a DPI switch button but does not state the DPI levels. HP’s product page could not be opened when we checked, so we have not quoted any figure.

How long does the HP M190 battery last?

The listing claims up to 18 months on one AA battery, which is included. Actual life depends on how many hours a day you use it and the battery you fit.

Will the HP M190 work with a MacBook or Chromebook?

The listing names PC, Mac and Linux. It should work with any computer that accepts a standard USB mouse through a USB-A port. Newer MacBooks need a USB-C to USB-A adapter. Chromebooks are not named on the listing, though standard USB mice usually work with them.

Can I customise the six buttons?

The listing calls the buttons programmable, but no HP software is named. Check HP’s support site for a utility for your operating system before relying on custom mappings.

Final word

The HP M190 is a straightforward pick for a USB-A computer if you want extra buttons, an ambidextrous shape and an AA battery that should last a long time. Its main weakness is thin public detail, especially on DPI and software. If those details matter, compare it with the ASUS WT300 or Logitech B170. If they do not, check the current price of the HP M190 Wireless Mouse on Amazon.in.

Related reading on GadgetSoch: HP Laser 1008w Review: Compact Wi-Fi Laser Printer for Black-and-White Documents and HP 320 FHD Webcam Review (53X26AA): 1080p Plug-and-Play Camera for Calls, With Limits.

Sources

  • Amazon.in listing for HP M190 Wireless Mouse (AB3C6AA), ASIN B0DXNTYWHV: title, feature bullets and technical details, checked 17 October 2026
  • HP India online store (hp.com/in-en): product page attempted on 17 October 2026 but did not load content for verification
  • Logitech B170 Wireless Mouse product datasheet (Logitech, 2016), used for the B170 alternative, checked 17 October 2026
  • Amazon.in listings for ASUS WT300 (ASIN B0CFF2K7C8) and Dell WM118 (ASIN B07JPX9CR7), used for alternatives, checked 17 October 2026
WhatsApp
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Telegram
Scroll to Top