The HP K270 Wireless Keyboard is a full-size, battery-powered keyboard that connects to a laptop or desktop through a 2.4 GHz USB dongle, with a number pad and 12 Fn-key shortcuts for media, volume, browser and email. It suits home and office users who want a basic, cable-free keyboard with a number pad. The short verdict: it covers the essentials, but the published details are thin, so battery type, battery life, range and warranty need checking before you order.
This is the HP-branded K270 (HP part number AB3D4AA), sold on Amazon.in in black as a single keyboard. It is not the Logitech K270, which shares the model name but is a different keyboard from a different company, so keep that in mind when you read specifications online.
How this article was put together: it is based on the Amazon.in listing data for this exact product (title, bullets and technical details captured on 17 October 2026) and on official manufacturer pages for the alternatives. HP’s own K270 product page did not load for us, so every K270 specification below is attributed to the Amazon.in listing. We have not tested this keyboard.
Quick verdict
- Best for: home PCs, office desks and docked laptops that need a full-size layout with a number pad
- Skip if: you need Bluetooth, multi-device switching, a rechargeable battery or a confirmed backlight
- Key strengths: number pad, 12 Fn shortcut combos, plug-in 2.4 GHz dongle, listed support for Windows 11, macOS 14 and Ubuntu 22.04
- Key limitations: no battery-life, range or warranty figure in the listing, no Bluetooth mentioned, and the listing contradicts itself on a couple of points
HP K270 specifications at a glance

| Specification | HP K270 (per the Amazon.in listing) | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Model and part number | HP K270, AB3D4AA | Use the part number to confirm the variant |
| Connection | 2.4 GHz wireless via USB dongle | No Bluetooth mentioned |
| Layout | Full-size QWERTY (English) with number pad | Listing bullet |
| Shortcuts | 12 Fn-key combos for music, movies, volume, homepage, bookmarks and email | Listing bullet |
| Keycaps | Round, vintage-style | Listing bullet |
| Switch type | Listed as clicky | Not explained further |
| Power | Battery powered | Type and count not stated |
| Minimum OS (listed) | Windows 11, macOS 14 Sonoma, Ubuntu 22.04 | Listing field |
| Dimensions | 44 x 14.1 x 2.6 cm | Listing field |
| Weight | 400 g | Listing field |
| Colour | Black | Variant on the linked listing |
| Backlight | Listed as backlit LED in one field | Not in title or bullets, so unconfirmed |
| Warranty, range, battery life | Not stated | Check the listing and box |
These figures are the seller’s claims on the Amazon.in listing for ASIN B0DXPHFMLX, not an official HP spec sheet.
Check the current price of the HP K270 Wireless Keyboard on Amazon.in
Two listing details you should not take at face value
First, the opening feature bullet calls the product a “Wireless Keyboard Mouse Combo”, but the title says “HP K270 Wireless Keyboard” and the technical details list the unit count as one piece. Read together, the linked product looks like a keyboard only. If you need a mouse too, do not assume one is in the box; check the box contents and images, or ask on the listing.
Second, the “Product Features” field says “backlit LED”, yet neither the title nor any bullet mentions backlighting, and there is no mention of brightness levels or a backlight key. A backlight is usually a headline feature, so its absence from the bullets is a warning sign. If you type in a dark room, choose a keyboard with clearly documented backlighting.
A “Number of Keys: 12” field also appears. It almost certainly refers to the 12 Fn shortcut combos, not the total key count, because the keyboard has a full layout with a number pad.
Layout and design: why a number pad still matters
At about 44 x 14.1 x 2.6 cm and 400 g, according to the listing, the HP K270 takes more desk space than a compact keyboard. The payoff is the number pad, which is genuinely useful for spreadsheets, accounting and billing software, or GST forms. Entering figures on a dedicated pad is faster and less error-prone than using the top number row, which is why many Indian offices still prefer full-size keyboards.
The round, “vintage” keycaps described in the listing are mainly a looks choice. Some people like the typewriter-inspired style, while touch typists used to square keycaps may need time to adjust, because the gaps between round keys feel different. The “clicky” switch type field most likely describes the sound and feel rather than a mechanical switch, as no switch type or brand is named. If you share a room or take many calls, a keyboard sold as quiet may suit you better.
Shortcuts and everyday controls
The listing says the HP K270 has 12 shortcut combinations activated with the Fn key, covering music, movies, volume, the browser homepage, bookmarks and email. You hold Fn and press a second key, usually on the top row. That is slightly slower than dedicated one-touch media keys, but it still saves trips to the mouse for actions like muting a call or skipping a song. On macOS and Linux, standard media keys usually work, while “homepage” or “email” shortcuts depend on your default apps. No HP remapping software is mentioned.
Wireless connection: what a 2.4 GHz dongle means
According to the listing, the K270 connects through a 2.4 GHz USB dongle, and no Bluetooth is mentioned. For a desk keyboard that is often an advantage: a dongle works as soon as you plug it in, needs no pairing, and suits older desktops without Bluetooth or offices where Bluetooth pairing is restricted.
The trade-offs are real, though. The dongle needs a free USB-A port, so USB-C-only laptops need an adapter or hub. It cannot connect to a phone or tablet, and you cannot switch between two computers with a key press. No range is stated. If you notice lag, move the dongle to a front port or use a short USB extension cable, away from USB 3.0 hubs and Wi-Fi routers.
Battery and compatibility
The listing describes the K270 as battery powered but does not state the battery type, how many it takes, whether they are included, or how long they last. That is a meaningful gap, because battery life is one of the main differences between budget wireless keyboards and several rivals publish ratings in months. If the keyboard does have a backlight, expect it to drain batteries faster. Remove the batteries before storing the keyboard for long periods to avoid leakage.
For compatibility, the listing names Windows 11, macOS 14 Sonoma and Ubuntu 22.04 as minimum operating systems, and laptops and PCs as compatible devices. Mac users should note the Windows-style key labels; macOS lets you remap modifier keys in System Settings under Keyboard, but the printed labels will not match.
Who should buy it, and who should skip it

- Buy it if: you want a simple full-size desk keyboard with a number pad and no cable clutter
- Buy it if: you enter numbers in Excel, Tally or billing software every day
- Buy it if: you like the look of round, vintage-style keycaps
- Skip it if: you want to type on a phone or tablet, since no Bluetooth is listed
- Skip it if: you switch between computers, need a confirmed backlight, or want a rechargeable keyboard with a published battery rating
Alternatives worth comparing
Logitech MK270r: a full-size keyboard and mouse combo on one 2.4 GHz receiver. Logitech India’s page claims a 10 m range, 36 months of keyboard and 12 months of mouse battery life, eight media keys, a number pad and a spill-resistant keyboard tested with up to 60 ml of liquid. It is the better pick if you also need a mouse. See our Logitech MK270r review.
Logitech K270: the same model name from a different company. Logitech’s page lists a full-size layout with number pad, eight shortcuts, a Unifying receiver, up to 10 m range, up to 24 months of battery life, a spill-proof design and a three-year warranty, so its specifications are better documented.
Portronics Bubble: a compact tenkeyless keyboard with Bluetooth 5.0 and a 2.4 GHz receiver, 78 noiseless keys, switching between up to three devices, 276 g weight and a 12-month warranty, according to Portronics. Choose it if you also type on a tablet or phone and can live without a number pad.
What to check before you order

- Variant: confirm the title reads HP K270 Wireless Keyboard, the colour is black and the part number is AB3D4AA
- Keyboard only or combo: check the box contents, because one bullet mentions a mouse combo
- Backlight: treat it as unconfirmed unless the images clearly show it
- Batteries: check the type, count and whether they are included
- Ports: make sure you have a free USB-A port, or budget for an adapter
- Warranty and service: no warranty period is stated, so check the listing’s warranty section or HP India support, and keep your invoice
Setup is simple: insert the batteries, plug the dongle into a USB-A port and switch the keyboard on. Windows, macOS and Linux generally recognise USB wireless keyboards without drivers. If everything checks out, see the HP K270 Wireless Keyboard (black) on Amazon.in.
Frequently asked questions
Is the HP K270 the same as the Logitech K270?
No. They share a model name but are different keyboards from different companies. Specifications and reviews of the Logitech K270 do not apply to the HP model (part number AB3D4AA).
Does the HP K270 have Bluetooth?
The Amazon.in listing only mentions a 2.4 GHz connection through a USB dongle. No Bluetooth is listed, so it should not be expected to pair directly with a phone or tablet.
Is the HP K270 backlit?
It is unclear. One technical field says “backlit LED”, but the title and bullets never mention backlighting. Check the images or ask the seller before relying on it.
Does it come with a mouse?
The title and one-piece unit count suggest a keyboard only, although one bullet refers to a keyboard and mouse combo. Confirm the box contents before ordering.
Does the HP K270 work with a Mac?
The listing names macOS 14 Sonoma as a supported minimum OS. The key labels follow a Windows layout, so you may want to remap Command and Option in macOS settings.
Bottom line: the HP K270 offers what most desk users need, a full-size layout with a number pad, Fn shortcuts and a plug-in dongle, but its listing leaves gaps that better-documented alternatives do not. If those details check out, check the current price of the HP K270 on Amazon.in.
Related reading on GadgetSoch: ZEBRONICS Transformer PRO Review: Rechargeable Wireless Keyboard and Mouse Combo, Explained and Amazon Basics 360° Rotating Laptop Stand Review: Steel Build, 10 kg Load and What the Listing Leaves Out.
Sources
- Amazon.in listing for HP K270 Wireless Keyboard, ASIN B0DXPHFMLX (captured 17 October 2026)
- Logitech India: MK270r Wireless Keyboard and Mouse Combo (checked 17 October 2026)
- Logitech: K270 Wireless Keyboard (checked 17 October 2026)
- Portronics: Bubble wireless keyboard (checked 17 October 2026)




