Sunday, 25 October 2026

Geonix Trot R7 Pro Mini UPS Review: 4x2000mAh Router Backup, Claims Checked

The Geonix Trot R7 Pro is a DC mini UPS for routers and modems with four 2000mAh batteries and 12V, 9V and 5V outputs, per its Amazon.in listing. Here is what the 8-20 hour claim means and what to check before buying.
By Gadget Soch··9 min read
Cover graphic: Geonix Trot R7 Pro Mini UPS Review: 4x2000mAh Router Backup, Claims Checked

The Geonix Trot R7 Pro is a DC mini UPS for Wi-Fi routers, modems, CCTV cameras, set-top boxes and cordless phones. Its Amazon.in listing claims four 2000mAh batteries, 12V, 9V and 5V outputs, “zero lag” automatic switching and 8 to 20 hours of backup depending on load. If your router runs on 12V or 9V and your area sees long or frequent power cuts, it is the bigger-battery option in Geonix’s Trot R7 range.

The honest catch is documentation. When we checked Geonix’s official website on 17 October 2026, it listed the regular Trot R7 but not the R7 Pro, so almost every specification here comes from the seller’s Amazon.in listing and is labelled that way. Some of those details are also internally inconsistent, which we point out below.

This article is based on the Amazon.in listing data and Geonix’s official page for the related Trot R7, not on hands-on testing. We did not find independent reviews with measured runtime to cite.

Quick verdict

  • Best for: homes and small offices that want a 12V or 9V router, ONT or camera to keep running through long power cuts
  • Skip if: you need fully documented specs, per-port current ratings, or a device that runs on a voltage other than 12V, 9V or 5V
  • Key strengths (per the listing): four 2000mAh batteries, three outputs, claimed zero-lag switching, 278 g compact body, made in India, 1-year warranty
  • Key limitations: no official product page found, per-port current not stated, the 20-hour figure is a best case, and runtime fields in the listing disagree with each other

Trot R7 Pro vs Trot R7: specifications

The table compares the gray R7 Pro (the variant linked in this article) with the regular R7. R7 Pro details are from its Amazon.in listing. R7 details are from Geonix’s official page and its Amazon.in listing.

Trot R7 Pro key specs at a glance
Trot R7 Pro key specifications, summarised from the table in this review.
ItemTrot R7 Pro (Gray, this article)Trot R7 (for comparison)
Batteries4 x 2000mAh, lithium-ion (listing)2 x 2000mAh (official), lithium-ion (listing)
Claimed backup8 to 20 hours depending on load (listing)Up to 6 hours (official)
Outputs12V, 9V and 5V DC (listing), currents not stated12V/2A, 9V/2A DC and 5V/2A USB (official)
Number of outlets3 (listing)3
Output wattage25 W (listing)25 W (listing)
Switching“Zero lag” automatic switching claimed (listing)Not stated
Input voltage12 V DC (listing)Not stated
Size7.5 x 12 x 2.6 cm (listing)120 x 26 x 75 mm (listing)
Weight278 g (listing)174 g (listing)
BodyABS plastic (listing)ABS plastic (listing)
Model numberGXRUPS54 (listing)GXR7UPSW (listing)
Warranty1 year (listing)1 year manufacturer (listing)
Country of originIndia (listing)India (listing)

Make sure the listing you open is the gray R7 Pro with 4 x 2000mAh batteries. Check the current price of the Geonix Trot R7 Pro (Gray) on Amazon.in.

The backup claim: what 8 to 20 hours really means

The listing headline says 8-20 hours of backup and the feature bullets add “depending on connected device load”. That range is wide because a mini UPS’s runtime is set almost entirely by how much power your devices draw. A single low-power router sits near the top of the range. A router plus an ONT plus a camera will pull the figure down sharply.

Two other fields in the same listing muddy the picture. The technical details give “Battery Average Life” as 10 hours and “Runtime” as 20 hours. Neither field states a test load. The listing does not explain how the two figures relate, so the safest reading is that 20 hours is a best case for a very light load. Your own result could be well below it.

There is a simple sanity check against the regular Trot R7. Geonix claims up to 6 hours for two 2000mAh batteries. The R7 Pro has twice as many 2000mAh batteries. If the cells are of the same type (not confirmed), stored energy roughly doubles, which would point to around twice the R7’s runtime on the same load.

The only reliable number is the one you measure. After a full charge, connect your devices, switch off mains at a time you can watch, and note when the router goes off.

Zero-lag switching and why it matters

The listing claims “Zero Lag Automatic Switching Technology” that moves from mains to battery instantly, “preventing router reboot, internet disconnection, and device reset”. This is the feature that makes a mini UPS worth having. If the router loses power even briefly, it restarts and takes time to reconnect, which interrupts video calls, downloads and smart home devices.

Geonix does not publish a switchover time for the R7 Pro, and we found no independent test of this claim. Treat it as the seller’s description. The good news is that it is easy to check at home: start a video call or a long download, switch off mains at the wall, and see whether the connection drops.

Outputs and compatibility

According to the listing, the R7 Pro provides 12V, 9V and 5V DC outputs across three ports. Unlike the regular R7, whose official page lists 2A on each output, the R7 Pro listing does not state the current each port can deliver. The listing gives a total output wattage of 25 W.

Before ordering, read the “Output” line on your router’s adapter. You need a voltage the R7 Pro offers and a current your device needs. A 12V adapter rated at 1A means the router draws up to about 12 W (12 x 1), which is within the listed 25 W total. If you plan to connect two 12V devices, check how many 12V ports the unit has, which the listing does not spell out.

Connector size matters too. Routers mostly use round DC barrel plugs in a few common sizes. The listing does not say which cables come in the box, so check the box-contents section and images, or ask the seller.

The listing also gives “Input Voltage” as 12 Volts DC. That suggests the unit is charged from a 12V DC supply, but the listing does not say whether a charging adapter is included or whether you are expected to use your router’s own adapter. Confirm this before you buy, as it affects how you wire it up.

Build and size

The listing describes a compact gray unit made of ABS plastic, measuring 7.5 x 12 x 2.6 cm and weighing 278 g. That is the same footprint as the regular R7 listing but about 100 g heavier, which fits with the extra two batteries. It is small enough to sit on a router shelf or be mounted near a CCTV DVR, and the listing mentions suitability for wall-mounted setups.

As with any lithium-ion battery product, keep it in a ventilated spot, out of direct sun and away from warm devices.

Who should buy it

Who should buy the Trot R7 Pro
Who the Trot R7 Pro suits, summarised from this review.
  • Households with a 12V or 9V router or ONT and long or frequent power cuts
  • Small shops that want a router and a CCTV camera to stay online through outages
  • Work-from-home users who want to avoid router reboots during short cuts
  • Buyers who prefer a small DC unit over a bulky AC inverter UPS for network gear

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who needs complete, officially published specifications before buying
  • Owners of routers or set-top boxes that use 15V, 19V or other voltages
  • Setups with two or more 12V devices, unless the seller confirms enough 12V ports
  • Buyers who need to back up AC devices such as a desktop PC or a DVR with its own mains plug

Alternatives worth comparing

  • Geonix Trot R7: the smaller sibling with 2 x 2000mAh batteries, up to 6 hours claimed, and 12V/2A, 9V/2A and 5V/2A outputs, per Geonix’s official page. Lighter at 174 g (listing) and better documented on per-port current, but with half the batteries.
  • Zebronics ZEB-MLS755: a 600VA/360W line-interactive AC UPS that Zebronics markets as a micro-load UPS for CCTV and routers. It works with any device that plugs into a socket, but weighs 3.9 kg (official figure) and runs on a 12V 7Ah battery.
  • Geonix 600VA/360W UPS (GXUPS600VA): Geonix’s AC UPS, listed on its official page with AVR, surge protection, auto restart, cold start and a 2-year warranty. Worth a look if you want one unit for a PC and network gear.

Buying checklist

Trot R7 Pro buying checklist
What to check before you buy the Trot R7 Pro.
  • Variant: the linked listing is the Trot R7 Pro, Gray, 4 x 2000mAh, model GXRUPS54. Confirm these on the page.
  • Voltage and current: match your router adapter’s output to the 12V, 9V or 5V port and ask the seller about per-port current if your device is near 2A.
  • Cables and charger: check what comes in the box, given the 12 V DC input listed.
  • Warranty and support: the listing states a 1-year warranty and names Geonix International Pvt. Ltd., Okhla Industrial Area, New Delhi, with the support email care@geonix.in.
  • First week: charge it fully, run one controlled backup test, and note the runtime for your own setup.

After those checks, see the Geonix Trot R7 Pro Gray listing on Amazon.in. If you want to understand mAh and output ratings in more depth, our power bank and charger buying guide covers the basics.

Frequently asked questions

Will the Geonix Trot R7 Pro really last 20 hours?

The listing claims 8 to 20 hours depending on load, and separately lists 10 hours as average battery life. Twenty hours is a best case for a very light load. Test it with your own devices to know.

Does the router restart when power goes off?

The listing claims zero-lag switching that prevents router reboots. Geonix does not publish a switchover time, so check it yourself during your first outage or a planned test.

What is the difference between the R7 Pro and the R7?

The R7 Pro listing claims four 2000mAh batteries and 8 to 20 hours, against two batteries and up to 6 hours for the R7. The Pro is heavier at 278 g versus 174 g, and its listing adds the zero-lag claim.

Can it run a set-top box?

Only if the set-top box uses 12V, 9V or 5V and its current draw fits within the unit’s output. Check the adapter label, since set-top box voltages vary.

Is there an official Geonix page for the R7 Pro?

We could not find one on geonix.in on 17 October 2026. The Geonix store listed only the regular Trot R7 in white and black.

Bottom line

The Geonix Trot R7 Pro looks like a sensible upgrade over the R7 for long outages, with double the battery count and a claimed zero-lag switchover. The trade-off is that you are relying on a seller listing with incomplete and partly contradictory details. Match your router’s voltage, confirm the cables, and test the runtime yourself. Check the current price of the Geonix Trot R7 Pro on Amazon.in.

Related reading on GadgetSoch: Amkette 8-in-1 Type C Docking Station Review: HDMI, 100W PD and the 4K 30Hz Question, Oakter Mini UPS Plus Review: 22.2Wh Router Backup for 12V Routers up to 3A and Geonix Trot R1 Mini UPS Review: 12V/2A Router Backup, Specs and Limits.

Sources

WhatsApp
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Telegram
Scroll to Top