Thursday, 29 October 2026

Apple iPad (A16) vs iPad Air 11-inch (M4): Which to Buy?

Apple iPad (A16) or iPad Air 11-inch (M4)? We compare chip, screen, Apple Intelligence, USB-C speed and Pencil support from official specs and published reviews.
By Gadget Soch··8 min read
Cover graphic: Apple iPad (A16) vs iPad Air 11-inch (M4): Which to Buy?

Which should you buy? If you want the cheapest way into iPadOS with Apple Pencil support and mostly read, stream, browse and take notes, the Apple iPad (A16) is the sensible pick. If you want Apple Intelligence, a laminated anti-reflective screen, faster USB-C and a chip with far more headroom, the Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4) is the one to buy.

Both are 11-inch iPads with Touch ID, USB-C and 12 MP cameras, so they look similar on a shelf. The differences sit underneath: chip, memory, screen treatment, wireless and accessory support. This comparison is based on official specifications and published reviews summarised in our individual reviews, not hands-on testing. Prices and availability on Amazon.in change, so we do not quote any here.

One caution before you read on: neither Amazon listing we link to fully pins down the exact configuration. Check storage, colour and Wi-Fi or Wi-Fi plus Cellular on the listing before you order.

Quick verdict

  • Choose the iPad (A16) if you want an entry-level iPad for reading, video, browsing, light drawing and online classes, and you do not need Apple Intelligence
  • Choose the iPad Air 11-inch (M4) if you want Apple Intelligence, a laminated anti-reflective P3 display, Apple Pencil Pro support, USB 3 speeds and a chip with plenty of headroom

Side-by-side specifications

SpecApple iPad (A16)Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)
ChipApple A16 (MacRumors: 5-core CPU, 4-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine)Apple M4: 8-core CPU, 9-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine
Memory6 GB (MacRumors report; Apple does not state it)12 GB unified memory
Display11-inch Liquid Retina, True Tone11-inch Liquid Retina, LED-backlit IPS, True Tone
Resolution2360 x 16402360 x 1640, 264 ppi
Brightness500 nits (MacRumors)500 nits (Apple)
Screen treatmentNot laminated, no anti-reflective coating, no P3 wide colour (MacRumors)Fully laminated, anti-reflective coating, P3 wide colour
Refresh rate60 Hz (PhoneArena description)60 Hz (reviewer description; Apple does not state it)
StorageFrom 128 GB (Apple); 128, 256 and 512 GB (MacRumors)128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB
Cameras12 MP rear, 12 MP landscape Center Stage front12 MP rear, 12 MP landscape Center Stage front
WirelessWi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3 (MacRumors)Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread
PortUSB-C, USB 2.0 speeds (MacRumors)USB-C, DisplayPort and USB 3 up to 10 Gbps
BatteryUp to 10 hours of video or web (MacRumors, PhoneArena); 28.6 WhUp to 10 hours of web or video on Wi-Fi (Apple claim); 28.93 Wh
Weight and size477 g, 248.6 x 179.5 x 7 mm (PhoneArena)464 g (Wi-Fi), 247.6 x 178.5 x 6.1 mm
Apple IntelligenceNot supportedListed as available in beta; check what is live in India
Pencil supportApple Pencil (USB-C); first-generation Pencil with an adapterApple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C)
KeyboardMagic Keyboard FolioMagic Keyboard for iPad Air
In the boxNot confirmed; check the listing20W USB-C adapter and 1 m USB-C cable

Display and drawing feel

Both iPads use a Liquid Retina screen at 2360 x 1640 with True Tone, and both are described as 60 Hz LCDs. On paper they sound alike. The difference is in how the panel is built. The iPad Air is fully laminated, has an anti-reflective coating and covers P3 wide colour. According to MacRumors, the iPad (A16) has none of those: no laminated construction, no anti-reflective coating and no P3.

In daily use a laminated panel puts the pixels closer to the glass, which makes handwriting and drawing feel closer to the pen tip, and the coating helps reduce glare near a window. Both are rated around 500 nits, but the A16 figure is MacRumors’ rather than Apple’s.

Who it suits: the iPad (A16) is fine for reading, video and casual note-taking. Artists, heavy note-takers and anyone who works near windows will get more from the Air’s screen.

Performance, memory and Apple Intelligence

The A16 handles the usual iPad jobs: browsing, streaming, video calls, casual games and basic photo and video editing. MacRumors says it is up to 30% faster than the A14 in the previous iPad and that memory has risen to 6 GB. PhoneArena was more cautious, saying the gain over the 10th-generation iPad is present but not significant. PhoneArena’s article is itself inconsistent on RAM, so treat 6 GB as MacRumors’ report.

The iPad Air pairs the M4 with 12 GB of unified memory and 120 GB/s bandwidth, plus a media engine with hardware acceleration for H.264, HEVC, ProRes and AV1 decode. Tom’s Guide reported Geekbench 6 scores of 3745 single-core and 13342 multi-core for the M4 Air. Business Today says the 12 GB helps with many Safari tabs, Canva and AI features.

The biggest practical gap is Apple Intelligence. Apple’s comparison table lists it for the iPad Pro, iPad Air and iPad mini only, and MacRumors confirms the A16 does not support it. PhoneArena adds that Apple’s AI needs at least an A17 Pro chip and 8 GB of RAM. On the Air, Apple Intelligence is listed as available in beta, and feature and language availability varies by region, so check what is live in India before counting on it.

Who it suits: the A16 suits everyday use. The Air suits anyone who wants AI features, heavier multitasking, creative apps or the longest useful software life.

Connectivity and the USB-C port

The A16 uses Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3 according to MacRumors, while the Air uses Apple’s N1 chip for Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread. Wi-Fi 7 only pays off if you own a Wi-Fi 7 router, but it falls back to older standards without trouble.

The USB-C port is a bigger everyday difference. MacRumors says the A16 is limited to USB 2.0 speeds, so large file transfers will be slow. The Air supports DisplayPort and USB 3 speeds up to 10 Gbps, so external SSDs and monitors work properly.

Both have cellular options. MacRumors says A16 cellular models are eSIM only and limited to sub-6 GHz 5G. Apple’s page for the Air likewise describes 5G sub-6 GHz and eSIM only. Check carrier eSIM support in India before choosing either cellular version.

Who it suits: if you mostly use Wi-Fi and cloud storage, the A16 is enough. If you copy files, connect a drive or use a monitor, choose the Air.

Battery, size and weight

Both are rated at up to 10 hours of web or video use, and the batteries are close in size at 28.6 Wh for the A16 (MacRumors) and 28.93 Wh for the Air. Tom’s Guide recorded 9 hours 44 minutes in its own test of the 11-inch Air. We found no equivalent test for the A16, so its 10-hour figure is a rating from MacRumors and PhoneArena. The Air is slightly lighter and thinner: 464 g and 6.1 mm against 477 g and 7 mm for the A16 (PhoneArena).

Who it suits: neither has a clear battery edge, so choose on screen, speed and features.

Apple Pencil, keyboard and accessories

The iPad (A16) supports the Apple Pencil (USB-C) and, with a USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter, the first-generation Apple Pencil. Its keyboard option is the Magic Keyboard Folio, with a 14-key function row and trackpad. The iPad Air supports the Apple Pencil Pro and the Apple Pencil (USB-C). The Pencil Pro adds squeeze, barrel roll, haptic feedback and hover, and attaches magnetically to the side to charge. The Air’s keyboard is the Magic Keyboard for iPad Air, which Tom’s Guide called snappy but expensive and without backlighting. Neither tablet includes a Pencil or keyboard.

Who it suits: the A16 works for basic note-taking with the cheaper Pencil. Choose the Air if you want Pencil Pro features and a more laptop-like setup.

Who should buy which

Apple iPad (A16)

Buy it if you are a student, a family buying a shared tablet or an upgrader from an older iPad with a Lightning port. Skip it if you want Apple Intelligence, a laminated screen or fast USB-C. MacRumors currently labels the 11th-generation iPad “Don’t Buy” and says the next one looks likely in 2027, though such predictions can change. PhoneArena says owners of the 10th-generation iPad do not need to upgrade. Variant warning: the Amazon listing title does not state storage, colour or Wi-Fi versus Cellular, so confirm these before ordering.

Read our Apple iPad (A16) review or check the current price on Amazon.in.

Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)

Buy it if you are a student, professional or casual creator who wants a light, fast tablet with a laminated screen, Apple Pencil Pro support and a long software life. Skip it if you want OLED, a high refresh rate or Face ID, or if you only browse and stream. Variant warning: the listing title points to 128 GB in Space Grey but does not say whether it is Wi-Fi only or cellular, so check before ordering.

Read our Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4) review or check the current price on Amazon.in.

Final verdict

Pick the iPad (A16) when you want a simple, capable iPad at the lowest entry point and can accept no Apple Intelligence and a plainer screen. Pick the iPad Air 11-inch (M4) when screen quality, Pencil Pro, USB 3 speeds and AI features matter to you. You can check the current price of the iPad (A16) on Amazon.in or check the current price of the iPad Air 11-inch (M4) on Amazon.in.

Frequently asked questions

Does the iPad (A16) support Apple Intelligence?

No. Apple’s comparison table lists Apple Intelligence only for the iPad Pro, iPad Air and iPad mini, and MacRumors says the A16 does not support it. The iPad Air is listed as supporting it in beta, with availability varying by region.

Do both iPads work with the Apple Pencil?

Yes, but with different models. The A16 works with the Apple Pencil (USB-C) and, with an adapter, the first-generation Pencil. The Air works with the Apple Pencil Pro and the Apple Pencil (USB-C). Neither includes a Pencil.

Is the iPad Air screen better than the iPad (A16) screen?

On paper, yes for drawing and glare. The Air is laminated with an anti-reflective coating and P3 wide colour, which MacRumors says the A16 lacks. Both are described as 60 Hz LCDs with the same 2360 x 1640 resolution.

Our full reviews

Sources

WhatsApp
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Telegram
Scroll to Top