The Apple iPad (A16), also called the 11th-generation iPad, is Apple’s entry-level tablet: an 11-inch Liquid Retina display, an A16 chip, USB-C, Touch ID and support for the Apple Pencil, starting at 128 GB of storage. It is a sensible tablet for students, families and anyone who wants an iPad for reading, video, browsing, drawing and light work, but it does not support Apple Intelligence, and that is the main thing to weigh before buying.
Short verdict: good value in features, and easy to use, but not future-proof for AI features. If you want the lowest-cost way into iPadOS and the Apple Pencil, it fits. If you want Apple Intelligence, look at a higher-tier iPad instead.
This article is based on Apple India’s official product page, a PhoneArena comparison with the previous iPad and the MacRumors iPad buyer’s guide. It is not based on hands-on testing, and we have not measured battery, brightness or performance ourselves. Facts were last checked on 29 October 2026.
Quick verdict
- Best for: students, families, readers and video watchers who want a dependable iPad with Pencil support
- Skip if: you want Apple Intelligence, a laminated or anti-reflective screen, or a 120 Hz display
- Key strengths: A16 chip, 11-inch Liquid Retina display, USB-C, Touch ID, 12 MP cameras, Apple Pencil (USB-C) and Magic Keyboard Folio support
- Key limitations: no Apple Intelligence, no ProMotion, USB-C limited to USB 2.0 speeds according to MacRumors
Check the current price of the Apple iPad (A16) on Amazon.in
Which version is this?
The Amazon listing we link to is titled "Apple iPad 11 inch A16 Chip Liquid Retina Display". The title does not state the storage size, colour or whether it is a Wi-Fi or a Wi-Fi plus Cellular model. Apple’s page names 128 GB as the starting storage and lists Silver, Blue, Pink and Yellow, and MacRumors lists 128, 256 and 512 GB options. Check the storage, colour and connectivity shown on the listing before you order, because the listing may default to a specific configuration.
Key specifications
| Specification | Detail |
|---|---|
| Chip | Apple A16 (MacRumors: 5-core CPU, 4-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine) |
| Display | 27.59 cm (11 inch) Liquid Retina, True Tone |
| Resolution and brightness | 2360 x 1640, 500 nits (MacRumors) |
| Storage | From 128 GB (Apple); 128, 256 and 512 GB (MacRumors) |
| RAM | 6 GB (MacRumors; Apple does not state it) |
| Rear camera | 12 MP Wide, 4K video, Smart HDR 4 |
| Front camera | 12 MP landscape Center Stage camera |
| Security | Touch ID in the top button |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3 (MacRumors), 5G on Wi-Fi + Cellular models |
| Port | USB-C (USB 2.0 speeds per MacRumors) |
| Battery | Up to 10 hours of video or web use (MacRumors, PhoneArena) |
| Weight and size | 477 g, 248.6 x 179.5 x 7 mm (PhoneArena) |
| Accessories | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with an adapter, Magic Keyboard Folio |
| Colours | Silver, Blue, Pink, Yellow |
Apple’s own page does not publish the screen resolution, battery hours, weight or RAM, so those figures are taken from the publications named above. Where sources disagree, the notes below say so.
Display
The 11-inch Liquid Retina display is sharp enough for reading, video calls and drawing. Apple lists True Tone, which adjusts the white balance to your surroundings and makes long reading sessions easier on the eyes. According to MacRumors, the panel reaches 500 nits, but the display is missing laminated construction, an anti-reflective coating, ProMotion and P3 wide colour. PhoneArena likewise describes it as a non-laminated 60 Hz LCD.
In practice, a non-laminated screen means a small visual gap between the glass and the pixels, which can make drawing with the Pencil feel slightly less direct. A lack of anti-reflective treatment can make glare more visible near windows. A 60 Hz screen scrolls less smoothly than the 120 Hz screens on Pro models. None of these is a deal-breaker for everyday use, but they are the places where Apple saves money.
Performance and the Apple Intelligence gap
The A16 is a capable chip for the tasks most people use an iPad for: browsing, streaming, note-taking, video calls, casual games and basic photo and video editing. MacRumors says it is up to 30% faster than the A14 in the previous iPad and that RAM has risen from 4 GB to 6 GB. PhoneArena reached a more cautious conclusion, saying the performance gain over the 10th-generation iPad is present but not significant, and that owners of that model do not need to upgrade. PhoneArena’s own article is also inconsistent about RAM, so treat the RAM figure as MacRumors’ report rather than an Apple specification.
The more important limitation is Apple Intelligence. Apple’s comparison table lists it for the iPad Pro, iPad Air and iPad mini only, and MacRumors confirms that the A16 does not support it. PhoneArena adds that Apple’s AI needs at least an A17 Pro chip and 8 GB of RAM. If AI writing tools, image tools and the newer Siri features matter to you, this iPad will not receive them.
Cameras, audio and security
Apple lists a 12 MP Wide rear camera with 4K video and Smart HDR 4, and a 12 MP landscape Center Stage front camera. The front camera sits on the long edge, which suits video calls when the iPad is on a stand or a keyboard case, because you look straight into the lens. The page also mentions landscape stereo speakers and Touch ID for unlocking, signing in and paying. Face ID is not available, according to MacRumors.
Battery and connectivity
Apple says only that the battery lasts all day. MacRumors gives a rating of up to 10 hours for web browsing or video and a 28.6 Wh battery, and PhoneArena reports the same 10-hour rating. This is typical of iPads and enough for a day of classes or a long flight, though heavy use with the screen bright will use it faster.
Connectivity is Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3 per MacRumors, with 5G on cellular models. MacRumors adds that cellular models are eSIM only and that 5G is limited to sub-6 GHz, so check carrier support in India if you are considering a cellular configuration. The USB-C port is useful for charging, drives and docks, but MacRumors says it is limited to USB 2.0 speeds, so large file transfers will be slow.
Apple Pencil and keyboard
Apple lists support for the Apple Pencil (USB-C) and, with a USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter, the Apple Pencil (1st generation). The Magic Keyboard Folio is supported, with a 14-key function row and a trackpad. Neither the Pencil nor the keyboard comes with the iPad, so budget for them separately if you plan to take notes or type.
Who should buy it
- Students who want to take notes, read and attend online classes
- Families looking for a shared tablet for video, games and learning
- People upgrading from an older iPad with a Lightning port or a much older chip
- Anyone who wants Touch ID, USB-C and Apple Pencil support at the entry level
Who should skip it
- Anyone who wants Apple Intelligence now or in future updates
- Artists and designers who want a laminated, anti-reflective, wide-colour screen
- Owners of the 10th-generation iPad, since PhoneArena says the upgrade is not necessary
- Buyers who want to wait for a possible next model: MacRumors currently labels the 11th-generation iPad "Don’t Buy" and says the next one looks likely to arrive in 2027, but such predictions can change
Alternatives worth comparing
- iPad Air: Apple’s comparison table lists Apple Intelligence on the iPad Air, which this model lacks
- iPad mini: also listed with Apple Intelligence support on Apple’s page, in a smaller form
- iPad Pro: the top of the range, also listed with Apple Intelligence on Apple’s page
- iPad (10th generation): the previous model, which PhoneArena says has the same display, size and cameras, but an older chip
Buying tips before you order
- Variant: confirm storage (the base is 128 GB), colour and Wi-Fi or cellular on the listing
- Accessories: a Pencil, keyboard, case and charger may not be included, so check the box contents
- Warranty: we could not verify India warranty terms on Apple’s page, so check the listing and keep the invoice
- Timing: if you want the latest chip, check whether a newer model has been announced before you buy
- Storage: 128 GB suits cloud users, but heavy video or games may need more
See the Apple iPad (A16) on Amazon.in
Frequently asked questions
Does the iPad (A16) support Apple Intelligence?
No. Apple’s comparison table lists Apple Intelligence only for the iPad Pro, iPad Air and iPad mini, and MacRumors says the A16 does not support it.
Does it work with the Apple Pencil?
Yes. Apple lists the Apple Pencil (USB-C) and the first-generation Apple Pencil with a USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter.
How much storage does it start with?
Apple’s page names 128 GB as the starting storage. MacRumors lists 128, 256 and 512 GB.
Does it have Face ID?
No. Apple lists Touch ID, and MacRumors says Face ID is not available.
Does it support a keyboard?
Yes. Apple lists the Magic Keyboard Folio, with a function row and a trackpad.
Final thoughts
The Apple iPad (A16) offers an 11-inch screen, Touch ID, USB-C, 12 MP cameras and Apple Pencil support at the entry point of the iPad range. Its compromises are a non-laminated 60 Hz display, USB 2.0 speeds and no Apple Intelligence. For everyday study, reading and entertainment it covers the basics well. Check the current price of the Apple iPad (A16) on Amazon.in, and confirm the storage and connectivity before you order.
Sources
- Apple India: iPad (A16) product page (checked 29 October 2026)
- PhoneArena: iPad A16 vs iPad 10th gen (checked 29 October 2026)
- MacRumors: iPad buyer’s guide (checked 29 October 2026)




